What You NEED To Know About Shadow Of The Tomb Raider

Mabel Lum/26 September 2018

Review price: SGD79.90 (Click HERE to buy it from PlayTrends)
Available platforms: PS4 (Reviewed), Xbox One, PC
Release date: Out now
Player: Single-Player

Hey, Bountie Hunters! You won’t believe what’s new in this game. There are new settings, a new skill tree, a bigger world, more deadly tombs, underwater section gameplay and so much more. Let me tell you about Shadow Of The Tomb Raider down below.

First off, the story takes place two months after the events of Rise of the Tomb Raider. The protagonist Lara Croft is an archeologist on an expedition to Latin America looking for a Mayan relic which has a connection to her late father.

Trinity, a paramilitary organization dedicated to investigating the supernatural, seek the relic to reshape the world. During the expedition, Lara sets off a Mayan apocalypse and she attempts to save the world.

Sneak Attack

Stealth becomes an important part of the game, with Lara being able to disengage from combat when she escapes from the enemies’ line of sight. And also creeping along the wall, vines or bushes, closing up the gap to go for a kill without alerting the enemies.

Does NS (National Service) have this kind of training? If it does I think I might sign up so I can sneak into the kitchen fridge for an ice cream or sneak out of the house late at night to a party. Of course, to avoid my mom. You wouldn’t want to mess with her for sure.

By the way, you can get Shadow of The Tomb Raider from PlayTrends HERE.

The stealth elements include camouflaging and the use of fear tactics draw inspiration from films such as Rambo and Predator. I think we can be a professional “hitman” at the end of this game but not as good as a cat being sneaky most of the time.

On Land And Underwater

So as we all know, the jungle is never safe for us but for Lara, she is a killing machine – a predator, just with her bow and arrow! How badass is that? It reminds me of Daryl Dixon from The Walking Dead TV series.

And of course, you can opt for a gun but I would not recommend it as it is loud and will attract your enemies’ attention. Remember stealth is the key when trying to avoid enemies and divert their attention somewhere else.

Swimming was also incorporated into the gameplay. And no, it is not safe underwater either. Be careful of the flesh-eating piranha and giant eels that will wrap you up.

That’s when stealth comes into the picture to save the day. Trust me, you do not want to get on their bad side especially underwater.


Developers also gave gamers an option to choose the difficulty level when playing in specific areas like Combat, Exploration and Puzzle. I think that is very thoughtful of them as it allows you to tailor to your needs.

It would be so dull if the difficulty level is limited to just Easy, Normal and Hard. To enjoy the full experience and catch a taste of the wild in the game you must set the difficulty level to Hard. Take up the challenge and test your survival skills and instincts! Be the next Tarzan!

Vibrant World To Explore

Welcome to the new hub world, Paititi, which is apparently the largest hub world ever for a Tomb Raider game. Paititi is a place untouched by modern civilization. It is broken up into multiple districts that you can explore to find challenge tombs and side quests.

You can also visit the marketplace to trade for new items. NPC is also able to speak in their native language. The idea is that this will make the game feel even more authentic. No worries, you can toggle this on or off.

New Game Plus Option

What is the New Game Plus? I’m happy to tell you that once you finish your story gameplay, you can go back to the beginning and start over but with the acquired skills, outfits, weapons and equipment upgrades from your previous gameplay.

New Game Plus also brings in three Paths exclusive to a subsequent playthrough. They are the Eagle Path, Jaguar Path, and Serpent Path. To understand more of each path scroll down below!

Path of the Eagle(Traversal Focus): Gameplay features an emphasis on traversal and resourcefulness. Observe your enemies from afar, scouting out to plan your next attack. Traverse with ease, attacking enemies from long range.

Path of the Jaguar(Combat): Gameplay features an emphasis on hunting and combat. Strike down your enemies with an unrivaled ferocity. Your agility and close-ranged prowess tear through your enemies with knife takedowns.

Path of the Serpent(Stealth): Gameplay features an emphasis on stealth and subterfuge. Take down your foes one by one, using sound and decoys to sow chaos among their ranks. Mud and camouflage let you lash out your foes before slipping back into the shadows.

Each chosen path will unlock a variety of exclusive rewards that further compliment your playstyle and gameplay. By selecting a path, you’ll unlock mastery skills featuring a variety of unique new abilities.

From Jaguar Rage to Eagle Sight, each skill expands your gameplay. On top of the new skills available, chosen Paths feature unique themed weapons and outfits that further take your game.


Now, the content is what we all have been hyped about in the Season Pass! You get to continue playing with new narrative even after completing the story gameplay. The Season Pass delivers seven new adventures called “Paths”.

Each Path includes new narratives, new missions, a Challenge Tomb, a new weapon, a new outfit and a new skill – one of each will be exclusive to the Season Pass! Season Pass owners will receive their exclusive weapon and outfit on Day One! Yay!

Some of the Challenge Tombs will also feature a new co-op functionality. It is a plus for me when they offer the co-op or online mode as I always love interacting and playing with people. I don’t know about you guys but I am getting the Season Pass and of course the game itself too!

Get your copy HERE today.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook, Instagram & Telegram for latest news and updates!

Subscribe to Newsletter
Get notified by Bountie